I’m Late To The Party, But I Want To Take My Shot At Michael Steele Anyway

Lisa DePaulo interviewed RNC Chairman, Michael Steele, for the March, 2009, issue of GQ.  The entire interview was deeply disturbing but one segment especially caused me to wonder if the RNC hadn’t made a terrible mistake.

Q: Why do you think so few non-white American support the Republican Party right now?

A: ’Cause we have offered them nothing! And the impression we’ve created is that we don’t give a damn about them or we just outright don’t like them. And that’s not a healthy thing for a political party. I think the way we’ve talked about immigration, the way we’ve talked about some of the issues that are important to African-Americans, like affirmative action… I mean, you know, having an absolute holier-than-thou attitude about something that’s important to a particular community doesn’t engender confidence in your leadership by that community—or consideration of you for office or other things—because you’ve already given off the vibe that you don’t care. What I’m trying to do now is to say we do give a damn.

Offered them nothing? Mr. Steele seems to be lacking in historical perspective.

Please read every word of this newsletter from the National Black Republican Association to understand the depth and endurance of the Republican commitment to civil rights and the strength of the resistance they met from the Democrats.

From its founding to the present, the Republican party has offered freedom, legal protection and the respect that comes from believing that skin color is irrelevant to intelligence, talent, character, drive, determination or any number of other admirable qualities.

My question for Chairman Steele is what, exactly, does he think we should have been “giving” them?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I’m Late To The Party, But I Want To Take My Shot At Michael Steele Anyway

  1. vfn

    Sometimes I wonder if Steele is really understands what the party is really about, or just believes what he reads in the NYT or WaPo.

    • paulag1955

      Good question. He practically came right out and agreed with the myth of Republican racism; that being the case, why is he even in the party, let alone leading it.

  2. Lesa

    I’ve often asked my students what party Lincoln belonged to, and most of them assume he was a democrat because he freed the slaves. I think conservative republicans need better PR, so to speak, in non-white communities.

Leave a Reply

