Why Is The White House Spamming Me?

From The American Heritage Dictionary:

spam: (n) An unsolicited e-mail, often of a commercial nature, sent indiscriminately to multiple mailing lists, individuals or newsgroups.

This may come as a  surprise to you, but I’m not really a supporter of President Barack Obama, so it came as a surprise to me when I started getting e-mails from the White House; from President Obama, the First Lady, Rahm Emanuel and most recently, from David Axelrod. It seems to be a trend.

At first I was mystified as to how the White House came by my e-mail address. Then I remembered that I had registered on the White House website for the “Open for Questions” program. At the time it didn’t occur to me that my name and e-mail address would be added to a mailing list. I certainly don’t remember an opportunity to opt out of being placed on a mailing list and had there been one, I surely would have done so.

This raises some rather disturbing questions. Such as…was “Open for Questions” just a ploy by the White House to collect e-mail addresses? If not, does the administration think it’s okay to ask for e-mail addresses for one purpose, then use them for another without permission? Really, why is the White House spamming me? Isn’t it enough to have their lapdogs in the mainstream media reporting adoringly on their every move? Must they also intrude into my inbox?

Especially given the recent questionable move by the Administration to collect names and contact information for people who are spreading “fishy” information (which can be defined as “any bit of information the Democrats don’t want you to know about, even if it’s true), it’s rather unsettling to realize that your e-mail address has been noted.

(Fairness requires me to report that there’s an unsubscribe link at the bottom of each e-mail. So far, I’ve not chosen to use it – forewarned is forearmed.)

Update: The White House now confirms they spent my tax dollars to spam me.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why Is The White House Spamming Me?

  1. M Hammack

    Anyone who is getting this spam email from the White House and does not want it needs to go into their email tools and set their email not to receive email from the White House. Maybe if the White House gets enough returned emails then it will stop sending spam.

  2. Those in the White House are very Net savy and will miss little when it comes to getting their message out, just like many businesses will also do. They claim to be transparent, but this is not so although we are beginning to see thru them, ha! Found you via twitter. Visit me sometime at TOTUS.

Leave a Reply

