In Remembrance of Elaine Cillo

On September 11, 2001, Elaine Cillo was a Vice President at Marsh Technology and Information Service, working on the 97th floor of the North Tower at the World Trade Center. I’ve read that she loved taking  photographs, but not being photographed; she had a twin sister, Lynne, with whom she’d recently traveled to Greece; and liked to play the guitar as a teenager.

Simple, bare facts that paint an inadequate portrait of a real person who loved and was loved. I never had the pleasure of meeting Elaine, living, as we did, on opposite sides of the country, so I can’t hope to do justice to the person she was. Instead, I’ll let you read the messages her family and friends have left at other memorial sites. Then I’ll leave you with a few words from one of my favorite poets, Alfred, Lord Tennyson.

Remembering Our Colleagues
9/11 Heroes

Crossing the Bar

Sunset and evening star
And one clear call for me!
And may there be no moaning of the bar,
When I put out to sea,

But such a tide as moving seems asleep,
Too full for sound and foam,
When that which drew from out the boundless deep
Turns again home.

Twilight and evening bell,
And after that the dark!
And may there be no sadness of farewell,
When I embark;

For though from out our bourne of Time and Place
The flood may bear me far,
I hope to see my Pilot face to face
When I have crossed the bar.

Rest in peace, Elaine.

Links to more memorials at Project 2996.

Wendy links to additional Project 2996 posts and other 9/11-related links.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “In Remembrance of Elaine Cillo

  1. A beautiful tribute for a woman who was taken too soon. Thank you for your remembrance of her life, and the reminder that all those who died that day were loved. They will not be forgotten.

  2. Lisa

    I’m touch by this family love & their loss. God Bless you

  3. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for In Remembrance of Elaine Cillo « It's Only Words [itsonlywords55.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  4. Pingback: Girl On The Right » Blog Archive » More September 11 Memories

  5. kingshounds

    Thank you for a lovely tribute.

  6. You had nothing much to go on…except one precious life. Thank you for doing justice to it. I was honored to remember David Garcia, who perished on the 97th floor of Tower 1.

    May we always hold them in cherished memory.

    May we NEVER forget.

  7. This is powerful. I read you on Twitter, but in this space your deft handling of language is even more powerful.

    You may want to read tributes of my own, here: http://feedyouradhd.blogspot.com/2009/09/911-rembrance-james-walsh-project-2996.html

    and here: http://feedyouradhd.blogspot.com/2009/09/911-remembrance-andrew-alameno-project.html

    Best,

    Doc

  8. “bare facts that paint an inadequate portrait of a real person who loved and was loved”

    How poignant – and very much how I felt writing my 2996 project tribute.

    We will never have the pleasure of knowing the heroes and victims but we can promise that we will never forget the lives lost that September morning.

    Thank you for sharing your words with the world.

    Heather~

  9. Pingback: The Rose Still Grows Beyond The Wall | it's only words

Leave a Reply

