Ugly Is As Ugly Does

Helen Thomas is one ugly woman, and it doesn’t have anything to do with her looks.

Update:

Helen Thomas issued a statement concerning her comments. To call it an apology is to insult the idea that words have actual meanings.

“I deeply regret my comments I made last week regarding the Israelis and the Palestinians. They do not reflect my heart-felt belief that peace will come to the Middle East only when all parties recognize the need for mutual respect and tolerance. May that day come soon.”

On the other hand, what else could she have said? “I am so very sorry that I am such a miserable excuse for a human being. I deeply regret holding views so vile that decent people are shocked and disgusted when I accidentally let them slip out?”

Then came the news that Thomas had been dropped by her speaking agency, so kudos to them!

Finally, yesterday brought the news that Thomas was retiring, according to Diane Sawyer, due to “age and outrage.” Apparently Thomas woke up Monday morning, looked in the mirror, and thought, “Hey, wow! I’m getting pretty old! When did that happen? I guess I’ll retire today!”

Right.

3 Comments

Filed under Culture, Journalism

3 responses to “Ugly Is As Ugly Does

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Ugly Is As Ugly Does « It's Only Words -- Topsy.com

  2. DCG

    From what I understand, she grew up in an Arab household. Her parents were Lebanese immigrants. She probably has relatives in Hezbollah…

  3. Pretty dang ugly, mostly inside, but…

Leave a Reply

