In Memory Of Lisa Hays

Weeping may remain for a night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.

Psalm 30:5

Lisa Hays, of Oswego,Kansas, went home this evening after a long fight with lung cancer. It’s not every day you try to write something in memory of a woman you’ve never met, but I’ve been praying for Lisa for over a year, now, and there’s nothing that can make you feel closer to a person than lifting them up in prayer.

Every thing I know about Lisa Hays I’ve learned from knowing her son, Caleb. Through him, I know that she was hard working and compassionate and passionate; these are qualities she instilled in her son. I know she was a good mother. I know she loved Jesus.

Lisa was a young woman and had never been a smoker, so when she was diagnosed with lung cancer, it must have seemed especially hard and unfair, but I know she faced her illness with a great, unshakable faith and courage because I saw Caleb face it that way.

There’s a Lisa-shaped hole in the hearts of her family and friends right now, but they can find comfort knowing the world is a richer place because she was in it. It was a privilege to be able to pray for her and her family and awe-inspiring to watch strangers from all over the world come together in agreement before the Lord as they lifted her up in prayer.

Good-bye, Lisa. I never had the pleasure of meeting you in this life, but it’s something I look forward to in the next.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “In Memory Of Lisa Hays

  1. LIsa you will always be in my heart,thank you for all the laugh and hug you gave to me..I know you will be in heaven together with my mother ..that I missed her so much..after 13 years I still crying that I did not hug her before she pass away..I love you so much Lisa..May God bless your soul and rest in peace…someday we will meet again????

  2. Prayers for Lisa Hays and family..

  3. Julia

    I did know Lisa, and I know her family. She was wonderful person and a Godly person. She is at home now.

  4. Susan Souders

    I knew Lisa and she was indeed a beautiful sister in Christ who will be missed by many. One thing I will miss is her beautiful singing voice. But know this, her voice will forever sing praises to my heart. Thank you Lisa for blessing our lives with your love for Christ and to your family who in their grief will still praise the Lord and give Him glory!

  5. neoshocountyrepublican

    Sharing your sorrow. May the Hays family find peace during this trial. Blessings. Houser Family

  6. Beautiful, Paula. Thank you.

  7. DCG

    Sorry to hear about Lisa. Prayers.

  8. Thank you so much for this post and for your prayers for Lisa.

    I didn’t know her either, but I am convinced that we do not fully understand the power of prayer nor do we know all the ripples of our prayers in time and space and eternity. Our prayers are instantly in the throne room in the presence of our heavenly father, they are pictured as incense in scripture. It may take us an eternity to understand what all transpires as prayers go forth.

    I am sure that I am here today because of the prayers of my parents and I experienced a very sweet moment on a plane yesterday as I became aware that a fellow traveler had been praying for me when I was struggling to walk — he was aware and apparently prayed instantly without my knowledge. As he was exiting the plane he touched my shoulder and spoke a blessing and indicated the power of prayer to which I agreed heartily and thanked him for his. We connected in the spirit instantly and I knew that once again prayer sustained me.

    Never grow weary in doing good; bless as many people as you can while you can…

    Blessings,
    Sandie

Leave a Reply

